The system of government in Turkey: the executive authority

His Excellency Recep Tayyip Erdogan is the president of Turkey.
The presidential system is the system of government in Turkey, and in this type of presidency it is based on strict separation between the three authorities:

  • executive power: headed by the president of the Republic (Recep Tayyip Erdogan).
  • legislative power: represented in Parliament.
  • the judicial authority: represented by the Judicial Council.

Executive power:
Executive power in the Turkish government is vested in the president of Turkey, as Authority is often delegated to Cabinet members and other officials.
President: (Recep Tayyip Erdogan)
The executive branch, under Part III of the Constitution, consists of:

  • The president and to whom the powers of the president are delegated.
  • The president is the head of the state and the government, as well as the commander-in-chief of the army; according to the Constitution, the president must (ensure the implementation of the Constitution), and(ensure the orderly and harmonious functioning of state organs).
  • The president may sign legislation passed by Parliament into law, or he may veto it, preventing it from becoming law unless a simple majority in parliament votes to override the veto.
  • With the consent of the president of the Republic, laws are published in the Official Gazette, and they become effective by virtue of such publication unless the law itself provides for a specific effective date.
  • The president also has the ability to introduce legislation by issuing presidential decrees. However, the laws introduced by the parliament prevail over presidential decrees on the same subject in the hierarchy of norms. Moreover, basic and personal rights and duties, political rights and duties cannot be regulated by presidential decrees.

Cabinet of ministers, ministries and bodies:
The implementation and daily administration of federal laws is the responsibility of the various executive Ministries, which deal with specific areas of national and international affairs.
The Turkish cabinet includes: the president and ministers.
As part of the division of the legislative branch from the executive, cabinet members cannot be members of Parliament while in charge of their ministry.
In addition to the ministries, numbers of employees were assembled in the Executive Office of the president. They include:

  • National Security Council.
  • The State Control Council.
  • And the National Intelligence Service.
  • The liaison service of the Turkish presidency.
  • Head of strategy and budget.
  • There are also state-owned enterprises such as the Turkish Electricity Transmission Company.

Administrative divisions of Turkey:

  • Turkey is a unitary state, not a federal system, and the provinces are governed by a system of central authority.
  • Local administrations were established to provide services on a local scale and the government is represented by governors and city governors.
  • Apart from governors and city governors, high-ranking government officials are also appointed by the central government such as mayors.
  • Under this unified system, Turkey is divided, for administrative purposes, into (81) provinces.
  • Each province is divided into a number of districts, with a total of 923 districts.
  • Turkey is also divided into 7 regions and 21 sub-regions, for geographical, demographic and economic purposes; they are not considered administrative divisions.

Historically, Turkey was divided into a number of subdivisions:

  • Provinces ;
  • Regions: include:
    Mostly rural (semi-rural) towns.
    The villages are rural.
    Suburban (urban).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top